Chestnut Mini Gugelhupf

IMG_2274

So, here it is… the last remaining winter recipe. I baked this one actually some time ago and then totally forget to post it! How is that even possible after baking these little cuties for so many times?! Maybe some part of me thought that they were still not completely finished… Because baking these little ones actually took me quite some time and effort. I guess baking such small cakes (Ø 4cm) they tend to get dry pretty quickly… So I threw everything I know about baking (so far) into it and finally came out with this recipe (after baking them in at least 8 different ways). It is still not quite as I have imagined them in the beginning, but I came to the point where there was no more improvement possible and I had to either be happy with it or leave it. Well, I decided to be happy with them 😛 My boyfriend really liked them and if I wouldn’t have another idea in mind I would like them, too. So I put aside the cake I had imagined and started to like them as they are 🙂 And now I want to share them with you after all, as I think this is the last chance I will get to present a winter-y dish, as hopefully from now it will be all about spring! 🙂

I think that they are winter-y as Chestnuts for me just represent winter and of course especially Christmas. Well, with Easter coming along pretty soon, this is not really suited, but I just didn’t want to wait for another year 😛 And as chestnuts are still available in all the supermarkets I just went with it (and I promise no more winter dishes from now on). Also, I totally fell in love with these cute little Gugelhupfs so I just had to show them anyway. Ehm, but… Gugelhupf? Yes, haha you have read that correctly 😉 It is the German name for bundt cake and as it is originally from Germany/Austria/Switzerland and because Guglhupf reminds me of home I decided to gave them their proper name: Mini Gugelhupf!

Mini Chestnut Guglhupf - How To

Chestnut Mini Guglhupf

  1. First butter and flour the mini guglhupf molds
  2. Mix the chestnut puree with sugar until creamy
  3. Add 1 tbsp of Greek Yogurt
  4. Add 1 egg and 1 egg yolk until everything is well combined and getting light
  5. Mix in 1 tsp of vanilla and if you want 1 tbsp of Tia Maria
  6. Sift in the flour and baking powder and fold it in until combined
  7. Chop up 2 chestnuts finely and fold them in
  8. Fill the batter in a piping bag or use a plastic bag where you cut of one corner. Pipe the batter into the little molds
  9. Bake them at 180°C for about 15 minutes.

Mini Chestnut Guglhupf

Let the small Guglhupfs cool down in the mold before firmly pressing them out. Store them in an air tight container, so they will keep moist for days. I actually like using the soft brown sugar as I find that it caramelizes a little on the top of the cakes 😉 I have baked these with and without the Tia Maria, so it is totally optional. I would highly recommend to used boiled and vacuumed chestnuts as those who are roasted will result in pretty hard pieces in your little cakes which is not too pleasant to eat (tried both as well).

IMG_2272

Ingredients:

  • 50g chestnut puree
  • 25g sugar
  • 25g soft brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp Tia Maria (optional)
  • 50g flour
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 2 chopped chestnuts (boiled and vacuumed)
