Little Coconut Treats

Little Coconut Treats

Slowly but surely Spring is approaching. What way to celebrate that better than baking little flower treats? I actually didn’t know how to call them… they are not cookies, definitely cake-y, but not cake, muffin or cupcake… So I just called them little coconut treats 😛 I had these cute little silicon molds with small flowers on the top. Another gift from my mum which actually got quite forgotten until we moved and I found it again. I immediately thought that I would need to bake something for spring 🙂 I like the idea of baking such small treats, one bite and it is gone 😉 Perfect little and super light spring-y treats! The only negative thing about is, because they are so light and small, you are constantly eating them and before you know it, half of them are gone 😮

Little Coconut Treats

I actually baked so many, that I also packed some of them in my cute little Pooh-tin and gave it to my boyfriend to distribute them between his colleagues 🙂 They were gone within a day and everyone told him how yummie they were. So I hope you will like them as well.

After having eaten a few plain ones I decided that they needed a finishing touch. So I made a little lime glace and added some more coconut on top of the flower. I really think that this was just what they needed to make it perfect: a hint of fresh lime and even more coconut for the texture on top! I found that this was the perfect balance between cake, freshness and coconut-ness. For some extra coconut flavor without the actual coconut texture I used a coconut syrup which I recently bought. Actually it was a small box with 6 little syrup bottles in different flavors like macadamia, white chocolate or vanilla (All bottles were from Monin, which I absolutely love! They have such a great variety of great flavors. If you can’t find the small bottles, here you can also order the big bottles).

Monin small try bottles

Little coconut treats

  1. Whip the cream until it get stiff
  2. Sift the flour and baking powder and fold them gently into the cream together with the coconut and the salt
  3. Mix in 3 beaten eggs until well combined
  4. Add the sugar and vanilla sugar and mix well
  5. Butter and flour the silicon molds and pour in the coconut batter
  6. Bake them at 180ºC for about 15-20 minutes

For the glace mix together 5 tbsp icing sugar with 5 tbsp of lime juice and dip the cooled little coconut treats up side down into the glace and afterwards in coconut. Ready to devour 😉

TIP: For those who don’t own such a silicon flower mold, the size is about the same as for mini muffins or mini gugls 😉 So you could easily make mini cupcakes instead 😉 Just top them with some lime glace and coconut once cooled down.

HINT: This recipe uses whipped cream instead of butter. However, I used half-fat cream which just worked great and allows you to cut down a little on the calories 😉

Little Coconut Treats

Ingredients:

Will make about 50-55 little treats or mini muffins or mini gugls 😉

  • 250g whipped cream (I used half fat)
  • 150g flour
  • 70g coconut
  • 1½ tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 150g sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 5 tbsp icing sugar
  • 5 tbsp lime juice
