That was… April

I thought that I would start a new category here: a month overview 😀 I really really like reading those kind of posts on other blogs and I thought it would also be a good idea for me… to remember what I have been doing during a month! I find that really nice, it is surprising how much you can forget and how much nice moments you actually have within a month. I really like the idea, I hope you, too 🙂 For me this is actually exciting as it is  pretty personal, but somehow I feel it is time to show you a bit more about the person behind the blog 🙂

First of all the recipes I have posted here, of course 🙂 There where some Little Coconut Treats, Easter Bunny Rolles, my Tiramisu Philadelphia Cake (still up for voting!) and something completely different, a DIY for vintage-style frames! Actually my Philadelphia Cake was already nominated by the Jury and there will be a final vote in May to choose a winner! I want to thank everybody so far who has voted for me and I would be more than happy if you would do so again, once the winners have to be chosen 🙂 (will announce it again here). So, big thanks!!

Little Coconut Treats  Philadelphia Tiramisu Cheesecake  Easter Bunny Rolls

Good, but let’s start with the most important thing which happened this month: I started my PhD!! You may remember my little Celebration I gave a while ago? Well that was because I heard that I was accepted 🙂 I am really happy about it and so far I like it. Let’s hope that it will be good! 🙂 Also because I am working now again full time, it is kind a hard yet to find a balance with my baking blog… but I will manage! It is far to great to have a blog so I am definitely doing my best there 😀

I really have to admit that it is kind of hard to remember what you have been up to during a month… luckily there is twitter and instagram (add me 🙂 I am icingsugarblog) 😀 That’s why I can remember having already some really nice and warm days in April and sitting for the very first on our balcony! Enjoying something which I would call self-made ice-cream. But actually it is no real ice-cream and mixed up within 2 minutes, but really creamy and refreshing!

Self-made Ice Cream

I tried to get some new ideas baked and onto my blog… two of them kind of failed. One I could rescue and turn into something else (more of it later on my blog) the other was actually good tasting, but looked not really too appealing… I had a pretty nice idea about some macaroons and I will definitely make these again… I already have some ideas how to do them the next time 🙂 Once I am happy with them I will obviously post about it here! You can also see some more of my macaroon failure on twitter 😉 These ones where actually the best ones 😀

Trying to bake macaroons

There where also some really nice dinner I cooked for us in April. Currently I am really a fan of the Jamie Oliver 15 and 30 Minute Meals! They are great and although I cannot handle them within 15 or 30 minutes I really love the recipes! Especially on the weekends when I cannot care about how long it will take me to cook and when I fancy a whole meal incl a nice dessert 😉 Saying so, I have to admit that I might not get it finished in time because I do not own a food processor. Yet. My plans for May are: buying a food processor 😛 Here a few impressions of our dinners 🙂 (Pictures are not too good, made them with my mobile phone)

Dinner - Jamie's 30 minute meals (Risotto)     Dinner - Jamie's 30 minute meals (Risotto)

Dinner - Jamie's 30 Minute Meals (Salmon and Noodles)     Dinner - Jamie's 30 Minute Meals (Salmon and Noodles)

Dinner - Jamie's 30 Minute Meals (Crispy Duck, Tofu Noodle Salad)     Dinner - Warm Potato Salad with Smoked Salmon and Asparagus Vegetables

There was self-made mushroom risotto (actually worked out pretty well); some chinese style salmon and noodles in broth; a salad with noodles, crispy duck for my boyfriend and tofu for me 😉 and some warm potato salad with smoked salmon and asparagus vegetables (the first asparagus this year!). I also made a lot of desserts, but we tend to eat them so quickly that there is no time for making pictures 😛 However, my boyfriend captures one: a lemon curd cheesecake (also from Jamie’s 30 Minute Meals). It was delicious! I think my boyfriend is becoming a big fan of curds 😛

IMG_5764

April was not all about food. Well, not quite… As mentioned there where already some really nice sunny days which we used to make a trip to a nearby wildlife park. It was actually not quite what we had expected as it was described as a wildlife park, but reminded me a bit of a zoo anyway (and I am not a big fan of zoos). But there where some animals running around freely which you could feed and overall it was a nice day out. Next time we will head towards a “real” wildlife park… maybe in may 🙂

Wildlife Park   Wildlife Park   Wildlife Park

Wildlife Park     Wildlife Park

Wildlife Park   Wildlife Park   Wildlife Park

Last day of April was a day to celebrate for all Dutch People! You may have heard that we got a new king! But as I am living now in Switzerland I just had to work and had to (re-)watch everything online. Nevertheless I showed my nationality by wearing a little Dutch bracelet 😉 I know that there are different opinions about having a king, but actually I like having that tradition! That saying, long live the king 😀

Dutch

Books I have read in April:

  • Little Lord Fauntleroy (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
  • Noah Bareleywater Runs Away (John Boyne)

