Marble Guglhupf

Marble Guglhupf

When you had a terrible week with some big shocking news, all you want is to bake something simple and delicious! Chocolate is always a good option of course, so I went for a marble cake. A Guglhupf to be precise; I guess that you are already familiar with it when you know my blog 😉 Actually this one is slightly bigger than the mini Gugls I baked but still not a full grown Guglhupf 😛 Some weeks ago my mother gave it to me as she stumbled upon it during her grocery shopping. And I am very thankful to her for that. Having a bad week, tons of chocolate and cake isn’t really solving anything. Although you might think so in the beginning, most of the times you think different about it afterwards 😛 So this cake tin was just perfect to enjoy 1 or 2 big pieces of heavenly marble cake, still having some cake left to share with your boyfriend. Because eating cake with someone else doesn’t make you feel all that alone and depressed,right?

Marble Cake

I have actually baked this recipe before when I came home late from work and my boyfriend told me he would like to have something sweet to bring along to work for his colleagues the next day. Because I had nothing fancy in my pantry, but still had the usual flour, butter, egg and milk, I was able to whip up little marble cupcakes in no time. I found the recipe in the Hummingbirds Cake Days book which I got some time ago from my brother. For my small Gugl I have adapted the recipe slightly and gave it a finishing chocolate glaze instead of the frosting from the original cupcakes. Otherwise I din’t play around with the recipe too much, because in a situation where you need instant comfort you don’t mess up with things that have worked fine before. Maybe just a little 😛 I did go all experimental with the chocolate glaze though, but honestly just because I was too lazy to look up any recipes on the internet. It turned out completely different as I had intended… almost shouting at me that’s your own fault but anyhow, I found it creamy and easy to spread onto the cake and it tasted good. End of story.

Marble Cake

Marble Guglhupf

Prepare the cake tin by buttering and flour it

For the chocolate part:

  1. Mix together the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and cacao until crumbly
  2. Whisk together the egg and milk and use half of the mixture for the chocolate cake
  3. Add it slowly until you get a smooth batter

For the vanilla part:

  1. Mix together the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder and salt until crumbly
  2. Add vanilla sugar and vanilla extract to the other half of the egg-milk mixture
  3. Add it slowly until you get a smooth batter

Marble Guglhupf

Assembling the cake:

  1. Add the chocolate cake batter first
  2. On top of it add the vanilla cake batter
  3. Using a spoon swirl the batter around until you can see a slight marbling of the chocolate and vanilla cake
  4. Bake the cake for about 35 minutes at 190ºC (170ºC fan)
  5. Let the cake cool down

Chocolate Glaze:

  1. Melt the chocolate together with the butter
  2. Add a little syrup or honey
  3. Spread onto the cake and you are done
  4. Optional: Sprinkle some white chocolate on top for the black-white marble effect

Marble Cake

Ingredients:

Makes one Guglhupf (Ø 15cm, height: 7 cm)

For the chocolate part:

  • 20g butter (soft)
  • 70g sugar
  • 60g flour
  • ¼ Tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 10g dark good quality dutch cacao

Half of the egg-milk mixture:

  • 1 egg
  • 120ml milk

For the vanilla part:

  • 20g butter (soft)
  • 70g sugar
  • 70g flour
  • ¼ Tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt

Half of the egg-milk mixture and additional:

  • 1 Tsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 Tsp vanilla extract

For the chocolate glaze:

  • 60g dark chocolate
  • 30g butter
  • 1 Tsp syrup or honey
  • Optional: white chocolate sprinkles
