Mojito -Lime- Pie

Mojito more Lime Pie

I wanted to make pie (statement) and found a recipe for lemon pie. Not just any recipe but one from my most favorite magazine Sweet Dreams! But this time from the Spring Edition. I have this edition for quite some time now and haven’t baked anything from it yet, although all the recipes scream to me and look just amazing! (such a shame, as on Friday I have already bought the summer edition!) Maybe it is because many recipes are with strawberries and I still wait for the first local ones? However, the authors have thought about that problem as well, as there is also a huge section of recipes dedicated to oranges and lemons 🙂 So no more excuses here, I was about to bake some lemon pie from my favorite magazine! Weather was nice as well, so I went for it. Until I came across a bag full of lemons in the supermarket… I was immediately drawn to it and decided it would become a lime pie instead of lemon 😛 When I was at home I also decided I wouldn’t do the meringue on top of the pie as the original recipe called for, but cover everything with a nice thick layer of cream 🙂

Mojito more Lime Pie

Well, seeing the title you guess right that I did a few more twist to the recipe 😛 During making the cream filling for the pie I found some left over mint leaves and thought hmmm, mint and lime that would go well together! And in they went! And while whipping the cream I thought lime, mint… sounds almost like Mojito… only thing missing would be the rum… I looked and found an old bottle with rum aroma… and in it went…

Mojito more Lime Pie

Well, that was pretty much the story of the pie. Not really intended but it ended up being a mojito pie. And here comes the but… but as the limes are so super zingy and fresh and almost sharp, they really dominate the cake and there is not much mojito left. I guess if you would like it to be more present you would need to put more rum aroma (or real rum?) and more mint in it. And cut down on the lime. Really, the first bite into the cake will make you think you bite in a lime itself 😛 But we ate it cooled and sitting in the sunshine on the balcony and I can tell you that there is no better refreshment cake than that one 😛 I am just warning those of you who are not that fond of lime, or want more mojito… haha! So, on a hot summer day, bake this cake, cool it in the fridge and enjoy it either as a lime or a mojito pie!

PS: I squeezed these limes by hand… that was painful. Reminder to myself: bye a juicer!

Mojito more Lime Pie - Limes

For the Pastry

I have to admit that I have struggled a lot lately with making pastry dough… I don’t know why, I had a time when they went just fine… however, the last few times I had really huge difficulties. So this time I didn’t follow any instructions but just did what felt right… and it worked!! I am sure you have your own technique and recipe for making shortcrust pastry. Everything that works for you is fine and you should stick to it. For me this technique works best 🙂

  1. Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl (flour, salt, sugar) 
  2. Cut the cold butter into small pieces and quickly crumble the butter together with the dry ingredients to form small flakes (almost crumbles… it is really the same technique)
  3. Once you have a uniform mixture (but make sure to work quick) and an egg and bring the whole mixture together. For this step I used my stand mixer.
  4. Wrap the dough in clingfilm and let it rest in the fridge for about 1 hour
  5. Roll the dough about the same size as your pie dish and transfer it to the dish
  6. Bake the pie blind (using parchment paper and fill it up with some dried beans, rise or whatever you have at hand) for about 20 minutes at 180ºC ( fan 160ºC) and an additional 5 minutes without the paper

Mojito more Lime Pie - Shortcrust

For the Lime Filling

The recipe called for 4 lemons. If you want to make a lemon pie go for that, if you want to make my version of a lime pie you would need about 6 limes that make together about 150 ml of juice. If you don’t want it so lime-y, use only 100 ml lime juice and add an additional 50 ml of water. If you want to have more mint flavor (I liked the hint of mint just as it was) think about adding another small branch of mint. The same for the rum flavor, I would suggest not to add more than 2 teaspoons in total, as you might find it hard to get the cream whipped… (my personal experience, to avoid this problem as good as possible whip the cream first before adding the rum aroma).

  1. Press out the limes until you have 150 ml of juice (other options see above)
  2. Heat the juice together with the sugar, starch and water until it begins to thickens and bubble
  3. Set away from the heat and add butter until it is melted
  4. Add the egg and the egg yolk and whisk until well combined
  5. Heat again carefully on a medium heat and whisk until thickened
  6. Add the lime cream on top of the baked shortcrust pastry
  7. Bake again for 10-15 minutes at 180ºC ( fan 160ºC)
  8. Let it cool down completely
  9. Whip the cream and add the rum flavor, if wanted it can be sweetened by adding 1-2 tablespoons of icing sugar
  10. Add the cream on top of the cooled lime pie and again let it cool and set. The pie is best eaten cold as it is really refreshing then!

Mojito more Lime Pie

Ingredients

Shortcrust Pastry:

  • 200g flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 75g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 125g butter, cold

Lime-Mint Filling:

  • 6 limes (or 150ml lime juice)
  • 100g sugar
  • 2 tbsp starch
  • 85g butter, cold in cubes
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 egg

Rum-Whipped Cream:

  • 500ml cream
  • 1-2 tsp rum flavor
