Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

I actually wanted to bake something summer-y. It just felt right with the sun shining all day and the temperatures still quite high. Knowing that is is already end of August however, I was a bit anxious about still being able to buy summer fruits. I wanted to try it anyway, because I was not in the mood yet to bake something autumn-y with apples or plums. I just refused to think that summer is already over now…

So far the theory, because once inside the supermarket I recognized that there are no longer strawberries, raspberries or blueberries left to buy. Instead I saw a lot of figs, plums, apricots and the only reminder of summer: melons. I had to rethink my whole baking plan and just bought some delicious looking super huge apricots. I guess I have to realize that summer is slowly coming to an end . . . On the good side, once the temperatures drop I will be back in the kitchen once more! I already have some nice baking ideas in my head worth trying during autumn! Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

Not too bad after all, cause I also love the autumn season and especially plums are amazing to bake with! For now however, I decided to go for apricots, for me something in between an summer and autumn fruit 😉

As I had a totally different kind of cake in mind, I had to improvise a new cake now using apricots. However, I think that it was a success, so I decided to share it with you again 🙂 It was something in between a cheese cake and a crumble cake, which I think is a winning combination! The sweetness of the apricots and the nuttiness of the almonds just made it perfect! Sometimes I think that crumble cakes are just too try, so with this attempt you totally avoid this problem 😉

Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

For the Pastry

I used the same recipe as usual, it just works best for me. You can have a look at it here. The only difference was that this time I used only 60g of sugar.

For the Filling

Mix together the eggs, sugar, vanilla sugar, vanilla paste, quark (Fromage frais) and starch. Wash and cut the apricots in eighth.

For the Crumble

  • Chop the nuts into small pieces
  • Mix nuts with flour, sugar and soft butter until crumbly
  • Let it rest in the fridge for about 20-30 minutes

Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

After the pastry dough has chilled for about 30 minutes (in the summer I usually let it chill up to 1 hour) roll it out by using a bit of flour. Add it to your buttered and floured baking tin and cut away remaining dough. Blind bake it for about 10 minutes at 200ºC (180ºC fan) by using some baking paper filled with dried beans.

Add the quark cream on top and distribute the apricot pieces equally above it. Top everything with additional almonds and the crumble. Bake in the oven for 40-45 minutes at  200ºC (180ºC fan). Once cooled you can garnish it with some icing sugar if you want 🙂

Apricot Almond Crumble Cake

Ingredients

Shortcrust Pastry:

  • 200g flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 75g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 125g butter, cold

Quark Filling:

  • 2 eggs
  • 60g sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla sugar
  • 1 Tsp vanilla paste
  • 400g quark (Fromage frais)
  • 2 Tbsp starch
  • 5-6 big apricots (about 500-600g)

Almond Crumble:

  • 50-60g almonds, chopped
  • 165g flour
  • 100g sugar
  • 100g butter, soft
