Roasted Pumpkin Gugls (aka Bundt Cakes)

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls

The leaves are slowly changing their colour from yellow to deep red. One of the things I love most about fall. A lazy Sunday and it is raining outside, what else to do than to bake? I was actually thinking about a suitable recipe during the last week and my thoughts were drifting back to my vegetable-inspired recipes like my cucumber cupcakes or my beetroot cake. And suddenly it hit me, obviously what else could I choose than pumpkin? I have actually never baked with it before and as I was planning to do a pumpkin lasagna anyway, so I could sneak some pumpkin aside for baking 🙂

I knew I had to use my small Guglhupf tins (read my first Guglhupf recipe to know more about what a Guglhupf is… just the German word for Bundt Cake, basically), which were laying around for a couple of month now and still weren’t used yet… Don’t get confused with my mini Gugls or my medium Guglhupf (seriously, do I have so many different sizes of them? One could think that I am obsessed maybe? Hmm…). These tins have just the same size as a regular muffin tin and I actually places them during baking in my muffin tray for support 😛 So if you don’t have the same tin, don’t worry and just make cupcakes instead (or one big Guglhupf?)!

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls

Roasted Pumpkin Purée

  1. First make the pumpkin purée. Therefore slice the pumpkin in very fine stripes and place it in a baking dish with just a little vegetable oil.
  2. Roast them in a 200°C oven until tender. Depended on the thickness of your slices it can last between 30 and 60 minutes. Check regularly and turn.
  3. Let them cool slightly and get rid of the skin. In a food processor make a smooth pumpkin puree. You could do this already one day ahead and store the purée in the fridge.

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls (Bundt Cake)

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls

  1. Cream together the sugar and butter until pale
  2. In the meantime separate the eggs and whisk the egg whites until stiff
  3. Add one yolk to the butter-sugar mixture and whisk until combined
  4. Mix the dry ingredients together and add 1 tablespoon
  5. Add another yolk, followed by another tablespoon of dry ingredients
  6. Add the pumpkin puree and whisk until everything is combined and smooth
  7. Sift the rest of the dry ingredients over the mixture and mix together
  8. In the end add the whisked egg whites, use a spatula to mix together
    It can take some time until the egg whites fold into the mixture, be patient and work gently. On some point it will come together easily. I actually worked the batter like a macaroon mixture, if that makes sense to you? Just beat gently until super smooth, but without loosing the air! You could also choose add the egg whites beforehand, and sift the flour over it in the end. Just try what works out best for you. 
  9. Add the mixture into a piping bag and fill your buttered tins
  10. Bake them in a pre-heated oven at 200°C (180°C fan oven) for about 18 minutes or until golden
  11. Let them cool and dust with some icing sugar

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls

Thanks to the roasting of the pumpkin the flavours were intensified. Saying that, the cakes don’t necessary taste like pumpkin. Its a subtle flavour and more than anything the pumpkin purée adds moisture and of course the colour to the little cakes. And just when I was finished baking these beauties and was about to take some pictures, the sun came out! Isn’t that just wonderful and so typical for this season? The light is just so soft and golden which is only possible in fall. So we were able to enjoy these little cakes with golden sunlight shining through the window and enhancing all those fantastic autumn colours even more. What else can you want?

Have a fantastic autumn with lots of golden sunshine!

Roasted Pumpkin Gugls (Bundt Cakes)

Ingredients:

  • 350g pumpkin (140g puree)
  • 130g flour
  • 20g starch
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 75g butter, soft
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 15g brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • Some icing sugar to sprinkle on top
