Persimmon (Kaki) Pistachio Upside Down Cakes

Kaki (Persimmon) Pistachio Upside Down Cakes {by icing-sugar.net}

Can you imagine a food blogger without an oven? No? Me neither! Guess what happened to me this weekend… my oven broke 😦 Of course this has to happen on a weekend (so I don’t know yet how long it will take to let it fix), and of course it has to happen on a weekend when we have guests! Luckily I had prepared something sweet in advance. It had to be quick and easy as I had a lot of work so I made a nice little lemon tiramisu and a apple upside down cake and we all enjoyed it! 

I had no time to make a lot of pictures as our guests where already about to arrive so I wont be sharing those recipes with you right now. I would have liked to bake something else today and share it with you, but as the mentioned oven is not functional at the moment I will share a recipe that I made a few weeks before (as those who follow me on instagram will know ;))

Funny enough it is also an upside down cake (or rather small upside down (cup)cakes) but a completely different recipe than the quick and easy apple version which I did this weekend. This doesn’t mean that those sweet little cakes are complicated, they might just take a little more time than my apple version.

Kaki (Persimmon) Pistachio Upside Down Cakes {by icing-sugar.net}

I made these little cakes with persimmons, also known as kakis around here. I have seen them in the supermarkets for such a long time but have actually never eaten them before. Until recently a colleague of mine brought some to work and kindly shared them with me. It was an eye-opening moment: I really like them and I could hardly wait to run to the next supermarket to buy some and get baking!

I actually always wanted to try upside down cakes and so I quickly decided that those dark orange beauties will be used for small upside down cakes. So far I only saw upside down cakes with pineapples or apples but why shouldn’t it work with persimmons? They already had the almost perfect shape and size for my muffin form so everything came together beautifully 🙂

So let just hope that everything will come together nicely with my broken oven, too! Have a great weekend and enjoy these little treats if you decide to try them 🙂

Kaki (Persimmon) Pistachio Upside Down Cakes {by icing-sugar.net}

Persimmon Upside Down Cake

  1. Wash the persimmons and cut them into 0.5 cm thick slices
  2. If they are too big (like mine were) get a round cookie cutter or using a sharp knife trim them so that they fit in a muffin form (by doing this you will also get rid of the skin, not that this is necessary as you can eat the skin as well!)
  3. Melt the butter and sugar in a pan, add the persimmons and cover them with the sugar mixture
  4. Add one persimmon slice per muffin tin hole and distribute the remaining sugar between the muffin molds
  5. Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla sugar together until pale and creamy
  6. Add the eggs one by one, beat in between
  7. Add the vanilla extract
  8. Sift and add the flour, baking powder, the grounded pistachios and some salt
  9. Mix all the ingredients together until you get a smooth batter
  10. Distribute the batter on top of the persimmons and sugar mixture, I used for this an ice scoop
  11. Bake the small cakes at 180°C (160°C Fan Oven) for about 20 and 25 minutes (it will crisp up at the edges earlier, let it bake until the center is firm)
  12. Let the cakes cool in the form and use a sharp knife to cut along the edges of the cakes to release them from me form as they might stick due to the sugar mixture. By using a cutting board flip the muffin form upside down to release the small cakes.
  13. Sprinkle with additional chopped nuts of your choice (preferably pistachios)
Kaki (Persimmon) Pistachio Upside Down Cakes {by icing-sugar.net}

The small upside down cakes will have a crispy edge with a soft and chewy center, topped with the sweet and soft persimmon and some crunchy nuts!

Ingredients

Makes 12 Upside Down (Cup)Cakes

  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 2-3 Tbsp Sugar
  • 2 Persimmons, cut into thin slices
  • 140g Flour
  • 30g Pistachios, grounded
  • 200g Butter, soft
  • 200g Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Sugar
  •  3 Eggs
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • Pinch of Salt
  • some chopped nuts (pistachios or others)
