Cake Pralines (Cake Balls) in a Bundt Form aka Gugl Pralines

Cake Pops, Cake Pralines, Gugl Pralines with Dulce de Leche {by Icing-Sugar.net}

Last week I showed you my Snowflake Cake and I promised you to show you a sweet way to use the white cake leftovers. Well, here it is! I quite don’t know how to actually call them to be honest. Here are the thoughts when I started making those sweet little treats:

Hmmm, white cake leftovers, sure I have to make cakepops? Cake pops are quite hip nowadays but honestly I haven’t made them so far… Somehow there were always other things that I wanted to bake and the hole idea of baking a cake and destroying it again just didn’t sound so appealing to me. Actually I once won a whole package of super cute cake pop sticks from Laura’s Bakery, so I thought that now would be the time to finally use them!

Hmmm, but how do I transport them to work? Of course I was not planning a cute Dessert Table nor to eat all of them myself, so I would bring them to work and share them obviously. As I have a 1.5 hour ride to work and no cake pop stand at hand, this idea suddenly didn’t sound so brilliant any more…

Cake Pops, Cake Pralines, Gugl Pralines with Dulce de Leche {by Icing-Sugar.net}

Hmmm, maybe I just make some cake balls and leave out the cake pop sticks entirely? A pity regarding all the nice sticks I have still in my possession, but one day there will be the right opportunity for them!

Hmmm, wait… balls are boring, maybe I can make little Gugls (bundt cakes) using my super cool silicon form? I have to tell you here, that all these thoughts run through my mind within a few seconds. Do you know that feeling? Before you know it you entirely made up your mind within no time!

Hmmm, they are so rich and dense and yummie, I should call them pralines instead of cake! So, I went from Cake Pops to Cake Balls, to Cake Gugls to Gugl Pralines. Yeah, that makes sense right?

At first I was a bit anxious that it wouldn’t work, but I can tell you that each step was a big success! A bit time consuming maybe, but absolutely worth it and overall super easy to make! At work everyone absolutely loved them and already required a new batch very soon please 🙂 Honestly speaking I think they were my biggest baking success so far 😮

Cake Pops, Cake Pralines, Gugl Pralines with Dulce de Leche {by Icing-Sugar.net}

Gugl Pralines

  1. Use your hands or a food processor to crumble your cake very finely.
  2. Add the Dulce de Leche and by using a spoon or your hands combine everything until you get a sticky mixture.
  3. Press the dough into the clean silicon forms and let them firm up by putting them for 30 minutes in the freezer.
  4. Gently push the the little cakes out of the silicon form and set them aside.
  5. Start to melt the chocolate either au bain marie or in the microwave, be sure not to burn it!
  6. Fill the silicon molds with about 1 teaspoon of melted chocolate by either using a spoon or a piping bag (100g is for 1 sheet of Gugls that makes 18 pieces)
  7. Press the little cakes back into the silicon molds covered with the chocolate. Preferably the chocolate will squeeze out a little at the top, therefore you will know if you have added enough chocolate to cover the hole cake with chocolate.
  8. Set in the fridge for about 1 hour until the chocolate has firmed up and gently remove them from the silicon form.
  9. Enjoy your little pralines cold from the fridge!

Ingredients

makes 36 Mini Gugls (2 x 18 Gugls)

  • 550g Cake Crumbles (for example from this vanilla cake)
  • 100g Dulce de Leche
  • 200g Milk Chocolate
