Funfetti Meringue

Funfetti Meringue {by Icing-Sugar.net}

It is Carnival!

Hope you can enjoy this crazy time of the year, because honestly… I can not.

I don’t really celebrate carnival nor do I really like it (sorry I am afraid that I am just too unadventurous). However, I thought it would be a good excuse to finally bake something with colorful sprinkles! Pinterest is full of different funfetti varieties: cakes, cupcakes, donuts… the list is endless. And I love that! How can you not love a bunch of happy colorful sprinkles?

Funfetti Meringue {by Icing-Sugar.net}

It just so happens that carnival in in March this year which for me is a spring month. Don’t you also think that it is time to banish winter now once and for all and to welcome spring? What better way to do so than to use a whole package of sprinkles! Oh just seeing them makes me already happy and brighten my day.

Truth be spoken: although the sprinkles themselves are as colorful and bright as you can imagine, the meringues still look almost boring. I was hoping for real color explosions! But alas, all you get is a real taste explosion with some hint of color. And this is actually so much better than it sounds here. The chocolate sprinkles in my mixture just added this sweet chocolate flavor to the meringue and brings the usual plain meringue to a whole new level. I am usually not a huge fan of meringue, but those with a layer of cream in between… where actually my breakfast 😮 Can you believe that? No, I still can’t… It is pure craziness and maybe I am not that unadventurous after all.

Funfetti Meringue {by Icing-Sugar.net}

Funfetti Meringue

  1. Start by separating the eggs. Make sure that none of the egg yolk comes in your egg whites as this would ruin a good and stiff meringue. Clean the bowl where you want to whisk the meringue with some detergent and water to remove any remaining fat in the bowl. This as well could ruin your success of a stiff meringue. If you face problems here, clean the bowl with half a lemon. This should do the trick.
  2. Whisk the egg whites and ones it stiffens up start to incorporate the caster sugar. Mix until you get a stiff and glossy meringue mixture.
  3. Add the sprinkles and using a spatula gently fold them into the meringue mixture.
  4. Put the mixture into a piping bag and pipe small rosettes or rounds on some baking paper. Preferably use a open star or big round nozzle as a closed star will probably get blocked by the sprinkles.
  5. Bake the meringue for 1 hour at 100°C until they are firm but not colored.
  6. Sandwich them together with whatever filling you prefer. It doesn’t always have to be a fancy buttercream, I used smooth jam, lemon curd, dulce de leche or my favorite, some simple cream.

Funfetti Meringue {by Icing-Sugar.net}

Ingredients

  • 3 Egg Whites
  • 200g Caster Sugar
  • 100g Sprinkles
